CrazyPixels Forum
http://www.crazypixels.com/forum/

DVR cards with several input channels running parallel
http://www.crazypixels.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=13
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Marc [ Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:25 am ]
Post subject:  DVR cards with several input channels running parallel

Hello,

if you are interested in buying a capture card which is able to run several input channels parallel, it is important to buy the right one.

There are many cards in the market which are not able to do this!

Each analog/digital converter chip has only the ability to handle ONE camera!!! There is special software out there, which shows more than one camera for a chip, but only with a trick. The input channel is always periodical changed, so that one camera after the other is showed. But this is not a good way, because the video image has very low quality and the program can't record from all cameras (input channels) parallel.

So you need a card which has so many chips like channels you want to use.
I have got an email from a customer who successful runs such a card.


Quote:
OK, so I have downloaded the latest version of CamUniversal and YES I can add ALL the camera's with BtWDM drivers on 1-PCI card.

Here's a link to the card I used: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CCTV-8CH-REAL-TIM ... dZViewItem or http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/8Ch-240-frame-CCT ... dZViewItem

The 8-port PCI card is a Kodicom clone. And has 8 BtWDM physical chips on the board, chips ref: Bt878

Here's what I did.

I install the 8-port capture card into the pci slot, but do not follow the install wizard, click cancel in XP!

Install the BtWDM driver wizard, select default Any Card

XP device manager now says hardware installed BUT no driver loaded, this is OK!

Install CamUniversal and add cameras from card! SUCCESS J



The ebay links are old, but now you know which kind of card is running well.

Author:  Zeuge [ Sat Sep 15, 2007 3:15 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thanks for the Info.

My old GrandTec X-Guard 4-Port runs only with one Port in CamPermanent.

In other software like SupervisionCam there are all Ports possible..

Quote:
But this is not a good way, because the video image has very low quality and the program can't record from all cameras (input channels) parallel

Yes the Imagequality is very low (in 4-Port Mode)!

Most Dealer-reports conceal this.

Author:  ddolan [ Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:17 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hello everybody

This post is about 9 months old, does anyone have newer recommendations
for cards with 4 ports or more ? That work with Cam Universal for sure...


Thanks

Darreld

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/