CrazyPixels Forum

Everything about the CrazyPixels products!
 FAQ •  Search •  Register •  Login 
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:03 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Web Server not working on XP Pro
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:57 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,
I have been using CamUniversal for a week or so now, and everything is working pretty well except for the internal webserver. I have it set to listen on port 8080, and it says the WebServer is running. Yet i cannot connect to port 8080 with either a web browser, or via telnet, i have disabled windows firewall on this computer, which is running Windows XP pro and i have forwarded that port from my router so i can view the cameras while i am away at work.

Yet external access does not work. I am able to remote-desktop into the machine from external locations, but video quality is extremly poor as you would expect with a remote desktop session.

When i try and telnet to port 8080 from the localhost, i just get a connection refused error, and this is after double checking that windows firewall is off, that the server is running and port 8080 is the correct port.

Is the correct URL meant to be http://localhost:8080 or do i need to specify a path in order to be able to watch the cameras ?

Thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:35 pm
Posts: 74
I have just put in a new drive in my PC and have been resetting everything up. I just got the web server to run this morning but it took an age until I realised I must drop the www part of the url. I'll add this tip for my 'dummies' thread. Is this your problem too?

Also, testing external access whilst on the same machine as the webserver causes loopback errors on my router, so its not possible to test unless using another computer on a different LAN

_________________
CamUniversal 3.5, Win XP Pro

4 USB Logitech webcams
QC Pro 4000 + Notebook Pro. Both on same PC and driver qc858enu.
QC Pro 5000 + Fusion. Both on same PC and driver qc1150enu.

See Homepage for QC Pro 5000 pictures.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:57 pm
Posts: 6
m4rk wrote:
I have just put in a new drive in my PC and have been resetting everything up. I just got the web server to run this morning but it took an age until I realised I must drop the www part of the url. I'll add this tip for my 'dummies' thread. Is this your problem too?

Also, testing external access whilst on the same machine as the webserver causes loopback errors on my router, so its not possible to test unless using another computer on a different LAN


I was trying a url like this: http://i.p.address:8080

I was not sure about any arguments that are required

but this command from the camera server does not work either.

telnet localhost 8080 - connection refused

or also from the camera server

http://localhost:8080 and
http://192.168.1.1:8080

do not work either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 3:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:35 pm
Posts: 74
When testing on your LAN the IP address needs to be the same as the one assigned to the PC with the server running on it. Hopefully you have this fixed outside the DHCP range on the router and set in the TCP/IP settings for your network card. eg PC IP = 192.168.1.5. port forwarding is set so that requests for the WAn to port 8080 directs traffic to yor PC IP 192.169.1.5 on your LAN.

So when testing from within your LAN you have something like this

http://192.168.1.5:8080/camera=1 , works for me.

when testing oustide the LAN ie from WAN(internet) then:

http://yourwebsite.dyndns.com:8080/camera=1, this only works if I am actually on another network and not on my LAN.

or if you know the IP assigned by your ISP to you can use your IP address instead of yourwebsite.dynsdns.com, but as you probably know this varies quite frequently, hence the need for a DNS service.

Notice that I do not have www. before yourwebsite,dynalias.com in the above URL. Not sure why this messes things up but it does for me.

You can check what your actual WAN IP here or in your router ADSL pages by visiting the follwing link while on your network:

http://checkip.dyndns.org/

Clicking the above should return your router WAN IP address as seen by the outside world.

_________________
CamUniversal 3.5, Win XP Pro

4 USB Logitech webcams
QC Pro 4000 + Notebook Pro. Both on same PC and driver qc858enu.
QC Pro 5000 + Fusion. Both on same PC and driver qc1150enu.

See Homepage for QC Pro 5000 pictures.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Style based on FI Subsilver by phpBBservice.nl